Overview

The short answer
Skid steer financing is a business loan or lease used to acquire a loader. In a typical equipment loan, the financing provider pays the dealer or seller and takes a security interest in the machine. The business then makes scheduled payments under the agreement.
Factory financing can be the lowest-cost option on an eligible new machine. As checked September 13, 2026, Kubota, Bobcat, New Holland, and Cat advertise 0% financing on selected new skid steer models. Every cited offer is subject to credit approval and additional program conditions.
Term length matters as much as rate. Bobcat's current offer gives listed skid steers up to 36 months at 0%, compared with 48 or 60 months for listed track loaders. In the worked example below, a $42,717 mini loader costs approximately $29.72 more per month than a $51,613 full-size skid steer because the mini's 0% term is 12 months shorter.
Commera is a broker, not a lender. We compare offers from lender partners. All financing is subject to underwriting and final approval.
What a new skid steer costs in 2026
Kubota publishes "MSRP as low as" prices for several compact loaders. As checked September 13, 2026, its SCL1000 stand-on compact loader starts at $42,717, while its SSV65 and SSV75 skid steers start at $51,613 and $59,139.
| Machine | Class | MSRP as low as, checked September 13, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| SCL1000 stand-on compact loader | Mini | $42,717 |
| SSV65 | Full-size skid steer | $51,613 |
| SSV75 | Full-size skid steer | $59,139 |
Sources: Kubota SCL1000 offer and Kubota SSV offer.
MSRP is not the contract amount. Kubota says these prices exclude tax, dealer fees, and optional equipment. Get an itemized, out-the-door quote before comparing financing.
Many skid steers are quoted with a standard bucket, but included equipment varies. Confirm every attachment on the dealer quote. A grapple, auger, breaker, mulching head, freight charge, or setup fee can materially change the amount financed.
Mini skid steer financing covers the stand-on class. A mini may have a lower purchase price than a full-size loader, but its monthly payment can still be higher when the available term is shorter.
Search terminology overlaps across equipment categories. Landscaping equipment financing and lawn equipment financing can include loaders, mowers, trailers, and attachments. "Lawn equipment financing bad credit" is a search phrase, not a distinct product or a promise of approval. Leasing a skid steer and taking a skid steer loan create different ownership, tax, and end-of-term questions.
Worked example: mini versus full-size on factory financing

This comparison uses Kubota's published starting prices and promotional terms as checked September 13, 2026. It assumes the full published price is financed and excludes tax, dealer fees, optional equipment, and other closing costs. It is an illustration, not a financing offer.
A. Mini SCL1000 at factory 0%
Kubota advertises $0 down and 0% APR for 48 months on the SCL1000. It also publishes an example of $20.83 per month for each $1,000 financed.
That per-$1,000 figure is rounded. Multiplying it by the principal produces an estimated payment, but it cannot support an exact total-repayment calculation. Using the exact 0% calculation:
`$42,717 / 48 = $889.9375`
The estimated monthly payment is $889.94. Total repayment is $42,717, and interest is $0. The final payment may be adjusted for cents rounding.
B. Full-size SSV65 at factory 0%
Kubota's SSV page lists the SSV65 at an MSRP as low as $51,613 and advertises $0 down and 0% APR for up to 60 months. Its example factor is $16.67 per month for each $1,000 financed.
That factor is also rounded. The exact 0% calculation is:
`$51,613 / 60 = $860.2166667`
The estimated monthly payment is $860.22. Total repayment is $51,613, and interest is $0. The final payment may be adjusted for cents rounding.
One eligibility detail deserves attention. The live Kubota SSV page lists the SSV65 and SSV75 with the stated offer, but its first promotional footnote currently refers to "SVL series equipment." Confirm eligible SSV models and final terms with Kubota or a participating dealer.
C. SSV65 with the rebate and an independent lender
Kubota lists a rebate of up to $4,500 instead of promotional financing. The rebate is not available with 0% APR. Applying a $4,500 rebate to the $51,613 starting price leaves $47,113 to finance.
This model uses an illustrative 11.9% nominal APR, compounded monthly over 60 months, consistent with the modeling rate shown in Commera's equipment financing calculator. It is not a quote.
The calculated monthly payment is approximately $1,045.62. Using the unrounded payment, total repayment is $62,737.41, including $15,624.41 in interest. The final payment may vary slightly because the displayed monthly payment is rounded.
| A: SCL1000, factory 0% | B: SSV65, factory 0% | C: SSV65, rebate plus lender | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Principal | $42,717 | $51,613 | $47,113 |
| APR or modeled APR | 0% | 0% | 11.9% illustrative |
| Term | 48 months | 60 months | 60 months |
| Estimated monthly payment | $889.94 | $860.22 | $1,045.62 |
| Total repayment | $42,717 | $51,613 | $62,737.41 |
| Interest | $0 | $0 | $15,624.41 |
The mini costs $8,896 less but bills approximately $29.72 more each month because its term is shorter. Column C costs $11,124.41 more than the exact factory 0% total in column B, even after the rebate reduces the financed principal.
Compare the payment, term, and total together. Use the funding calculator to model your own price, down payment, rate, and term.
Skid steer financing at 0%: current factory programs
Factory 0% is a promotion, not a universal market rate. The manufacturer determines the eligible models, maximum term, inventory rules, and any cash-rebate alternative. Promotional terms can change or expire quickly.
The table below reflects manufacturer pages checked September 13, 2026. Bobcat, New Holland, and Cat's cited new-equipment offers were scheduled to expire September 30, 2026. Confirm the live offer before choosing a machine.
| Factory program | Promotional financing | Cash alternative | Offer window shown on cited page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kubota SSV series | $0 down and 0% APR for up to 60 months | Rebate up to $4,500 instead of 0% | Through December 31, 2026 |
| Kubota SCL1000 | $0 down and 0% APR for 48 months | $2,500 rebate instead of 0% | Through December 31, 2026 |
| Bobcat listed skid steers | 0% for up to 36 months | $1,500 to $5,000 by listed model, in lieu of financing | Through September 30, 2026 |
| New Holland skid steers | 0% for 60 months | $5,000 to $9,000 by model, in lieu of financing | Through September 30, 2026 |
| Cat eligible new skid steers | 0% for up to 60 months or 1.54% for up to 72 months | Not stated on cited page | Purchase and delivery by September 30, 2026 |
| Cat Certified Used equipment | 4.99% for 36 months | Not stated on cited page | Through December 31, 2026 |
| John Deere compact equipment | No promotional APR stated on cited comparison page | Not stated on cited page | No dated promotion stated |
Kubota's offers apply to qualified purchasers through Kubota Credit Corporation, U.S.A., subject to credit approval and participating-dealer inventory. The page language and SSV footnote should be confirmed with the dealer because of the SSV and SVL wording inconsistency noted above.
Bobcat's listed skid steer rebates range from $1,500 on the S70 to $5,000 on the S86-2 and are offered in lieu of promotional financing. Its offer is limited to selected dealer-stock units and eligible dealers.
New Holland's offer is for commercial use only. It says a down payment may be required and not all applicants will qualify. Final terms require CNH Capital credit approval.
Cat's new-equipment offer covers eligible 226D3 through 272D3 XE models, subject to participating-dealer inventory and Cat Financial approval. The cited page does not state a cash alternative, which is not proof that no alternative exists elsewhere.
John Deere's compact-equipment page compares loans and leases but does not publish a promotional APR or dated offer window.
Common conditions on the cited offers include credit approval, participating dealers or eligible inventory, and, where a cash rebate is offered, choosing the rebate instead of promotional financing.
Why a shorter term creates a larger payment
The advertised maximum term varies by eligible model. Approval and final terms still depend on the applicant and program conditions.
Bobcat's current sheet gives listed skid steers 0% for up to 36 months, compared with up to 60 months for the T595, T650, and T770 track loaders and 48 months for other listed track loaders. Kubota's current SCL1000 offer runs 48 months, while its SSV offer runs up to 60 months.
Neither manufacturer explains the difference on its cited offer page. What the arithmetic shows is simple. At 0%, $50,000 over 60 months is approximately $833.33 per month. The same $50,000 over 36 months is approximately $1,388.89 per month. Only the term changed.
When a factory program does not fit the purchase
The cited new-equipment promotions generally do not cover used or private-party equipment. Eligible model and dealer-stock requirements also vary. A unit outside the model list, a seller outside the program, or an application that does not receive captive-finance approval may require another route.
An independent equipment loan can cover purchases that do not fit a factory offer. The provider may pay the dealer or seller and take the loader as collateral. Pricing will depend on the applicant, equipment, seller, and program rather than a manufacturer subsidy.
Commera's equipment financing page models terms from 12 to 84 months. Its FAQ says down payments are often 0% to 20%, depending on the applicant and equipment. The page's calculator uses 11.9% as an illustrative APR. These are modeling inputs and general guidance, not fixed product limits or an offer.
Longer terms usually reduce the scheduled payment but can increase total interest when the rate is above 0%. Read the equipment financing guide for more on loan and lease structures.
Some owners also compare equipment financing with revenue-based financing. Commera's revenue-based financing page shows a calculator range of $10,000 to $500,000 and modeled factor rates from 1.15x to 1.50x. A factor rate is not APR, and actual terms are set by funding partners. Review MCA versus equipment financing before comparing the two by payment alone.
Used skid steer financing: hours, age, and condition

One manufacturer's current promotions illustrate how new and used offers can differ. Cat advertises 4.99% financing for 36 months on qualifying Cat Certified Used equipment through December 31, 2026. Its eligible new skid steers are advertised at 0% for up to 60 months through September 30, 2026. This is a comparison of Cat promotions, not a universal used-equipment pricing rule.
Hours, age, condition, model, seller, and collateral value can affect a used-equipment file. Ritchie Bros showed 785 upcoming skid steer listings and a usage filter from 2 to 17,108 hours when retrieved September 13, 2026. Inventory counts change continuously, so use current sold comparables rather than treating a live listing count or active bid as a fixed market benchmark.
Ask the seller or dealer for recent sold comparables for the same model, year, condition, and hour range. A financing provider may also request the make, model, year, hours, serial number, and an invoice or bill of sale.
Buying from a private seller
Private-party purchases generally sit outside the cited factory programs. Existing liens require careful handling, but the exact process depends on the transaction and jurisdiction.
Use this due-diligence checklist:
- Identify any existing lien or security interest tied to the seller or machine.
- Obtain written payoff instructions from the lienholder, including the amount and good-through date.
- Coordinate direct payoff with the new financing provider instead of relying on an informal payment to the seller.
- Confirm the applicable lien release or UCC termination after payoff.
- Match the serial number on the loader to the invoice, bill of sale, and financing documents.
Do not assume one sequence applies everywhere. Ask the financing provider, closing party, and qualified local counsel what documentation is required for first-priority collateral rights.
What financing providers may ask for
Requirements vary by provider. Blue Bridge Financial advertises a minimum 610 FICO score, no bank statements required, and no age or mileage restrictions for its skid steer program. Those are Blue Bridge's stated terms, not an industry benchmark.
A file may include:
- Dealer quote or invoice: Include the loader, attachments, freight, setup, and taxes where applicable.
- Business and owner information: Entity details, EIN, ownership information, and any guarantor information requested for underwriting.
- Financial records: Recent bank statements or other financial documents when the provider requests them.
- Equipment details: Make, model, year, hours, condition, and serial number, especially for a used unit.
- Private-sale documents: A bill of sale, lien information, payoff instructions, and evidence of release when applicable.
- Insurance documents: A provider may require physical-damage coverage and loss-payee documentation before funding. Confirm the exact certificate requirements.
Commera's initial application says it takes about 60 seconds and does not use a hard credit pull at that initial stage. It states that pre-qualified offers may return within 24 hours. Funding timing still depends on documentation, underwriting, and partner review.
Can you finance a skid steer for personal use?
Commera arranges business financing, so a loader bought only for personal property use falls outside Commera's scope.
Among the offers cited here, New Holland expressly limits its promotion to commercial use. The other cited pages should be checked individually rather than assumed to impose the same restriction. A consumer lender, credit union, or agricultural lender may have a relevant product, but eligibility and use restrictions depend on that provider's written terms.
Choosing a route by purchase type
- New eligible loader from participating dealer inventory: Compare the factory promotion with any rebate alternative using total repayment, not only the monthly payment.
- Used or private-party loader: Ask an independent equipment financing provider about seller eligibility, collateral requirements, lien clearance, and the available term.
- Personal-use purchase: Look for a consumer or agricultural product whose written terms allow the intended use.
- Working-capital need rather than an equipment purchase: Use a working-capital product comparison instead of presenting the transaction as equipment financing. Construction businesses can also review construction funding options.
Is it easy to finance a skid steer?
Approval depends on the applicant, the equipment, the seller, and the program. A new eligible unit from participating dealer inventory may fit a factory process, while a used or private-party purchase can require more equipment and lien documentation. Collateral does not ensure approval.
What credit score do you need to finance a skid steer?
There is no single published industry cutoff. Factory offers describe qualified purchasers and require credit approval. Blue Bridge advertises a minimum 610 FICO for its own skid steer program, but that is one provider's requirement, not a market standard.
How many years can you finance a skid steer?
Common terms span roughly two to seven years, while Commera's calculator models 12 to 84 months. Factory promotional terms can be shorter and model-specific. The written offer controls.
Is there skid steer financing without a credit review?
Expect a credit review. A soft inquiry may be used for pre-qualification, while final underwriting requirements vary by provider. The factory promotions cited in this article require credit approval.
How much do I need to put down on a skid steer?
Down payments are often 0% to 20%, depending on credit, equipment, and provider. Some Kubota offers advertise $0 down, while New Holland says a down payment may be required. Do not treat either statement as a fixed result for your application.
Can a business less than a year old finance a skid steer?
Possibly, but eligibility and terms depend on the provider's startup policy, owner credit, business documentation, equipment, and requested amount. Ask for the written qualification criteria before placing a nonrefundable deposit.
Can I finance a used skid steer from a private seller?
Some providers finance private-party equipment purchases. Expect additional review of the seller, serial number, condition, value, bill of sale, and any existing lien. Coordinate payoff and lien-release requirements with the financing provider.
Do I need insurance on a financed skid steer?
A provider may require physical-damage coverage and loss-payee documentation before funding. Confirm the required coverage, certificate wording, equipment description, and delivery timing directly with the provider.
Is it better to lease or finance a skid steer?
The answer depends on expected ownership period, usage, cash flow, tax treatment, end-of-term terms, and any usage restrictions. Deere lists no hour limits as a loan advantage and generally lower payments and upfront costs as lease advantages. Ask for any lease usage limits, purchase option, fees, and return conditions in the written quote.
Compare the quote, term, and total
Bring the itemized dealer quote, including attachments and fees, when you compare offers. Commera can help eligible businesses compare options from lender partners. Commera is a broker, not a lender, and all financing is subject to underwriting.
Keep reading
Sources
- Kubota skid steer prices and offer, checked September 13, 2026.
- Kubota stand-on compact loader price and offer, checked September 13, 2026.
- Bobcat compact loader offers, checked September 13, 2026.
- New Holland skid steer loader offer, checked September 13, 2026.
- Cat compact equipment offers, checked September 13, 2026.
- Cat Certified Used equipment financing, checked September 13, 2026.
- John Deere compact equipment loans and leases, checked September 13, 2026.
- Ritchie Bros skid steer loader listings, retrieved September 13, 2026.
- Blue Bridge Financial skid steer financing, checked September 13, 2026.
- Commera equipment financing, checked September 13, 2026.
- Commera revenue-based financing, checked September 13, 2026.
- Commera application, checked September 13, 2026.